Whether you’re for it or against it, daylight saving time in the U.S. has officially begun on the second Sunday of March and ended on the first Sunday of November since 2007. The extension came with the passing of the Energy Policy Act of 2005, which amended the Uniform Time Act of 1966, a piece of legislation that first sought to standardize the observance of the time change.

With the date quickly approaching this Sunday, March 12, we have a few AP style rules that are important to keep in mind when reporting on the annual occurrence before the day when everyone shows up late to work and then tries to pass it off like it doesn’t happen every year.

Bonus fact: Arizona and Hawaii do not observe daylight saving time.

daylight saving time Not “savings.” No hyphen. Lowercase in all uses and daylight time whenever it stands alone: “Don’t forget daylight saving time begins Sunday,” she reminded him, knowing he would still be late to work Monday.

     When using term with the name of a time zone, use only the word daylight: “Eastern Daylight Time,” “Pacific Daylight Time,” etc.

time zones Capitalize the full name of the time in force within a particular zone: “Eastern Standard Time,” “Eastern Daylight Time,” “Central Standard Time,” etc.

     Lowercase all but the region in short forms: “the Eastern time zone” “Eastern time,” “Mountain time,” etc.

     The abbreviations “EST,” “CDT,” etc., are acceptable on first reference for zones used  within the continental United States, Canada and Mexico only if the abbreviation is linked with a clock reading: “noon EST,” “9 a.m. PST.” (Do not set off the abbreviations with commas.)

     Spell out all references to time zones not used within the contiguous United States: “When it is noon EDT, it is 1 p.m. Atlantic Standard Time and 8 a.m. Alaska Standard Time.”

seasons Lowercase “spring,” “summer,” “fall,” “winter” and derivatives such as “springtime” unless part of a formal name.

Previous post

Grammar pros find internet stardom

Next post

Celebrate Women's History Month with journalist Nellie Bly