This past week, our Center for News and Design center has been working on a five-week series of pages for the college Bowl games and the National Championship series. Our talented design team offers these pages to newspapers across the country that seek more coverage during this exciting time in sports, beginning after tomorrow’s conference championships and running until the National Championship game. Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 11.35.08 AM

We’re taking the opportunity to brush up on the AP Stylebook’s guidelines for a few of these conferences.

Atlantic Coast Conference, or ACC, includes an Atlantic Division (Boston College, Clemson, Florida State, Louisville, NC State, Syracuse, and Wake Forest) and a Coastal Division (Duke, Georgia Tech, Miami, North Carolina, Pittsburgh, Virginia, and Virginia Tech).

Big 12 Conference teams include Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, TCU, Texas Tech, and West Viriginia.

Big Ten Conference includes an East Division (Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State, and Rutgers) and a West Division (Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue, and Wisconsin).

Southeastern Conference, or SEC, includes an East Division (Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Missouri, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Vanderbilt) and a West Division (Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, LSU, Mississippi, Mississippi State, and Texas A&M.

These are just a few of the many conferences included in the AP Styleguide. You can find a complete list and many other helpful tips for your football coverage there.

If your paper is interested in the CND’s conference pages, look for the pages starting Dec. 7 at More Content Now.

(Visited 156 times, 1 visits today)
Previous post

What does a digital newsroom actually look like?

Next post

Interaction on Twitter enhances journalists’ credibility